A Heart Breakfast

15 Jan

Have you ever been on Pinterest? If you haven’t let me tell you about it. It is kind of like a virtual cork board where you can organize and share all the great ideas you want to try out. Essentially, you “pin” an idea to a board you create. You can have as many different boards as you want and you can create boards on any category you desire. It’s an obsession of mine and also a great place of inspiration.

Anyway, someone pinned bacon in the shape of hearts for a Valentine’s Day breakfast idea. Inspiration! I thought I would try it and I made FabDaughter a heart-irific breakfast. She had heart french toast, heart bacon and some blackberries all served on a heart plate. If I had fruit that I could have used one of my heart-shaped cookie cutters on, she would have had heart fruit too. Oh well, maybe next time but she really loved her heart-irific breakfast!

So are you wondering how to make heart-shaped bacon? I made it in the microwave because I wasn’t sure how I would be able to flip bacon arranged in the shape of a heart. I used 4 pieces of bacon and started out by folding each of them into a V-shape. Then I took each end of the V-shaped bacon and folded them to the center to make a heart shape. I put the bacon hearts in between a couple of paper towels and microwaved them for about 4 minutes total (1 minute for each piece of bacon). My husband thought my heart-shaped bacon was silly but it was fun to try and I think I’ll make it again on Valentine’s Day:-)

Leave a Reply

