Bride Oreo Favors

22 Jan

I was in charge of the favors for my future sister-in-law’s bridal shower and I made chocolate covered Oreos that look like wedding gowns. It was easy but very time consuming, but that may have been because I had to make 65 of them.

I’ve made tons of chocolate covered Oreos before but this was my first time using a cookie mold. I must say that the mold made them look very professional! I’m not sure I’ll go back to my old method of using a dipping fork and just dipping the Oreos in chocolate since they looked so perfect using the cookie mold. However, the molds do require more chocolate than the dipping fork method.

Here is how I made the bride Oreos:

First, I melted the white chocolate (I use Merckens wafers). You can use the microwave or a double broiler. I use the microwave and I also use Wilton Stay Warm Candy Melting bowls, but you can use disposable candy melting bowls too. Microwave the wafers in 30-45 second intervals at a reduced power level (I use level 3), stirring after each time, until the chocolate is thoroughly melted and smooth.

Next, I filled the cookie molds about 1/3 full with the melted white chocolate. Then I placed an Oreo in each of the molds and filled them up the rest of the way with white chocolate. Sometime I had to gently tap the molds to get rid of air bubbles and/or to make sure the Oreos were totally covered with chocolate. I let the molds sit for about a half hour and then placed them in the fridge for 10 minutes before removing the cookies from the mold. To get the cookies out of the mold, I turned the mold upside down over top wax paper and gently pressed on the top of the mold.

Finally, I used my Make ‘n Mold squeeze bottles to decorate the Oreos. I squeezed 5 drops to form a semi-circle at the top of the Oreo to look like a necklace. Then I squeezed crisscrossing lines at the bottom of the Oreo to look like a wedding dress.

After I finished with the Oreos, I placed each one in a clear candy bag and tied a bow with gold ribbon.

One Response to “Bride Oreo Favors”

  1. Dottie January 22, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Beautiful job!

Leave a Reply

