No Sew Tutu

18 Mar

FabDaughter LOVES wearing tutus (she is a girly girl)! She asks to wear one of her tutus almost daily so I decided to make her a new tutu to wear for the St. Patrick’s Day Parade! This is the second tutu I’ve made for her. The first tutu I made was for her 1st birthday party.

I used this YouTube video for instructions on how to make the tutu. She uses a clever method of rolling the tulle and then cutting the roll every 3 inches to make long, evenly cut strips of tulle. After unrolling the long strips of tulle, you can then cut them to the size you want. For the St. Patrick’s Day tutu, I cut the strips 24 inches long. Since you fold them in half, the tutu’s length was 12 inches. I used 60 inches of skinny grosgrain ribbon (that’s all I had) and 6 yards of tulle (3 yards green and 3 yards white).

St. Patrick's Day Tutu

For the 1st birthday tutu, I used 60 inches of a wired satin ribbon and 3 yards of tulle (1.5 yards pink and 1.5 yards purple). I cut the tulle into 20 inch long strips to make a tutu that was 10 inches long.

First Birthday Tutu

2 Responses to “No Sew Tutu”

  1. MT March 18, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    She was the hit of the parade!

  2. Dottie March 18, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    Can’t believe how much FabDaughter has grown since her 1st birthday!

Leave a Reply

