DIY Valentine’s Day Decorations

5 Feb

Family Love

Above are pictures of a couple fast and easy, Pinterest inspired DIY Valentine’s Day decorations I made for our house.   I bought all the supplies needed for both the “Family” and “Love” decorations at Michaels.

“Family” Shopping List:

  • Spool of ribbon
  • Wooden hearts
  • Acrylic paint
  • Letter stickers or sharpie

“Family” Instructions:

  1. Paint wooden hearts with 2 coats of acrylic paint.
  2. Using the letter stickers, spell out “Family” on one heart and then spell out each family member’s name on the other hearts.  Or you can use a sharpie and hand write everything.  Since I have the handwriting of a kindergartener, I chose to use glitter stickers.
  3. Cut a long piece of ribbon and cut the bottom with pinking shears (or scissors).  Using a glue gun, attach the ribbon to the back of the “Family” heart and then glue on the remaining hearts under the “Family” heart.
  4. Make a bow out of the rest of your ribbon.  I used this tutorial.
  5. Attach the ends of the bow to the back of the “Family” heart.
  6. Hang up on a hook or nail.

“Love” Shopping List:

  • Wooden letters
  • Krylon spray paint (I used red and clear glitter)

“Love” Instructions:

  • Lay out newspaper in a well ventalated area.
  • Spray paint your letters.  I used 3 coats each.

Of course I also have my framed Valentine’s Subway Art and salt dough heart garland up!

Happy Crafting:-)

2 Responses to “DIY Valentine’s Day Decorations”

  1. Sarah (theGIRL) February 5, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    I love how crafty you are. I’ve been thinking about doing some Vday decorating for the last two weeks, but still have not done anything about it. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

